Introduction to Image Acquisition for Quantitative Analysis

iBiology
Owner:iBiology

Webinar URL: https://www.ibiology.org/techniques/image-acquisition/

Webinar Details

How do we visualize biological samples? In this talk, Dr. Nico Stuurman provides an overview of the different tools, equipment, and software available to acquire an image of a biological sample using a light microscope, and the considerations one needs to take when using these tools. This lecture will allow scientists to understand the principles behind image acquisition in order to improve and optimize the analysis of their sample.

Concepts:
detectors, detector noise, image display, binary image, grayscale values, illumination correction, metadata, file format

SpeakerNico Stuurman
Nico Stuurman
Nico Stuurman is a Research Specialist at the University of California, San Francisco, in the lab of Ron Vale. Nico combines his expertise in computer programming and microscopy to advance many projects including the Open Source software 'Micro-Manager'.

Date/Time

Eastern Time (US and Canada)

October 15, 2018 4:00 pm GMT-04:00

Beijing, Shanghai (China)

October 16, 2018 4:00 am GMT+08:00

Berlin (Germany)

October 15, 2018 10:00 pm GMT+02:00

Pacific Time (US and Canada)

October 15, 2018 1:00 pm GMT-07:00

Duration

Short < 30 min

Languages

English

Related Subjects

,

Webinar Type

Recorded