The cryo-EM revolution

National Institutes of Health
Owner:National Institutes of Health

Webinar Details

Research in the Subramaniam lab over the last decade has been guided by the vision that emerging tools in 3D electron microscopy hold great promise for imaging cells, viruses and protein complexes at high resolution in their native states, thus bridging a major gap in structural biology. In his talk, he will review examples of recent progress ranging from determination of protein structures at atomic resolution to imaging viruses, cells and tissue at nanometer resolution.

SpeakerSriram Subramaniam
Dr. Subramaniam left the CCR in July 2018. While at CCR, Dr. Subramaniam developed and applied novel methods in three-dimensional (3D) electron microscopy (EM) and image processing to determine structures of a variety of macromolecular assemblies of fundamental biomedical interest. His research interests included: structural analysis of membrane transporters and dynamic protein complexes involved in signaling and metabolism, structure and structural variations of enveloped virus glycoproteins and their applicability to vaccine design, 3D subcellular imaging with correlative light and electron microscopy to explore host-pathogen interactions, and the development of methods for high-resolution cryo-EM.

Date/Time

Eastern Time (US and Canada)

April 11, 2018 3:00 pm GMT-04:00

Beijing, Shanghai (China)

April 12, 2018 3:00 am GMT+08:00

Berlin (Germany)

April 11, 2018 9:00 pm GMT+02:00

Duration

Long > 60 min

Languages

English

Related Subjects

Webinar Type

Recorded